Eleven Residents and Fellows Honored at Graduation Ceremony

Nine residents and two fellows were honored at a graduation ceremony at the Old Field Club on June 12, 2013. The event was hosted by Residency Director, Michael Schwartz MD and Associate Training Director, Andrew Francis, MD.

Seven graduating residents completed four years of training in adult psychiatry.

Ami Baxi, MD, will be assistant inpatient unit chief at Lennox Hill Hospital in New York, NY

Jeremy Bennett, MD, will be a clinical attending physician at Susquehanna Medical Health Group in Williamsport, PA

Jacqueline Decker, DO has been awarded a geriatric psychiatry fellowship at New York Presbyterian, Cornell Campus in White Plains, NY

Gregory Gunyan, DO, will go on to a consultation liaison fellowship at Long Island Jewish Hospital in New Hyde Park, NY

Josiah Hagen, DO, will work in outpatient psychiatry at Kaiser Permanente, in West Covina, CA

Reena Jaiswal, MD, will continue her studies in a consultation liaison fellowship at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York, NY

Matthew Lobosco, MD, will stay at Stony Brook to complete a residency in Internal Medicine.

Lauren Spring, MD and Rathna Mallela, MD, who were members of the PGY-3 class, completed their training in adult psychiatry and will go on to child and adolescent psychiatry fellowships at Stony Brook.

Tatjana Maric, MD completed a two-year fellowship in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. She will continue her studies in adult psychiatry in the department’s outpatient clinic.

Raghuram Bhat, MD completed his geriatric fellowship and has accepted a position as an attending physician in the emergency department at Long Island Jewish Hospital in New Hyde Park, NY. He will also be a geriatric attending physician in Stony Brook’s adult outpatient clinic.

Several departmental awards were presented at the ceremony. Harold Pass, PhD presented the Steven Samek Award to Dr. Rathna Mallela for her outstanding care of people with chronic mental illness. Dr. Pass presented the Psychotherapy award to Dr. Lauren Spring in recognition of her commitment to the practice of psychotherapy. Drs. Fiana Klein, Jeffrey Hall, Ami Baxi and Lauren Spring received the Department’s Academic Merit Award for their high scores on the American College of Psychiatrists’ PRITE examination. Dr. Jacqueline Decker was the recipient of the Resident Educator of the Year Award.

Drs. Michael Schwartz and Andrew Francis presented the Resident of the Year Award, named for former Professor of Psychiatry Dr. William Turner, to Chief Resident Dr. Jeremy Bennett.
The residents selected Dr. Eric Fink to receive the Teacher of the Year Award. Dr. Keith Shebario was honored as the Outstanding Outside Supervisor.

The residents concluded the ceremonies by presenting a bouquet of flowers to Residency Training Coordinator Jane Pometti in appreciation of her kindness and personal concern.