The Medical School consists of eight basic science and 17 clinical departments that have the responsibility for pre-clinical and clinical instruction of medical students, as well as university-wide responsibility to students in other schools on the campus. In addition to instruction at the undergraduate and professional levels, these departments have major responsibility for graduate, postgraduate, and continuing education. The goal of each of the departments is to:

  1. promote input from all university disciplines into education and research in the health sciences and its application in clinical care;

  2. integrate as rapidly as possible new scientific knowledge and the advances of basic research into the training of every health professional; and

  3. ensure that every healthcare professional trained in the school is prepared to provide the highest level of patient care, technically and interpersonally.

These efforts are furthered by collaboration with colleagues at the biology and medical departments of the Brookhaven National Laboratory, the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and other research institutions in the vicinity. In the clinical departments, these objectives are enhanced by collaboration with the clinical affiliates of the Nassau University Medical Center (NUMC), Southampton Hospital, the Northport Veterans Affairs Medical Center (VAMC) and various community clinical facilities integrated under a variety of arrangements.

In its fifty years, the Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University has established a strong reputation for producing graduates who exemplify the highest qualities of physicians: clinical and scientific knowledge, procedural and interpersonal skill, and the virtues of professionalism — integrity, altruism, dedication and caring.


Please click here to view the SUNY Mandatory Professional Licensure Disclosure