Welcome to the Office of Faculty Affairs at the Renaissance School of Medicine!

The mission of the Office of Faculty Affairs is to provide support to Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University faculty, particularly in the areas of career advancement, faculty development, professional satisfaction, faculty mentoring and faculty diversity and inclusion.

Women in Medicine Research Day

Juanita Merchant17th Annual Women in Medicine Research Day will take place on March 6, 2023, 9am-2pm, in MART Auditorium. This year's event will feature a guest speaker Dr. Juanita Merchant, MD, PhD, Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Gastroenterology at College of Medicine Tucson at University of Arizona. She will give a talk entitled "The HNF1A variant provides a genomic landscape for EO-CRC to develop in the setting of a specific diet type."

To download the complete program of the event, please click here.

Dr. Bettina Fries is elected a Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science 2022

Bettina FriesBettina Fries, MD, chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases, professor of Medicine, and Molecular Genetics and Microbiology in the Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University, has been named a 2022 fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Dr. Fries is a nationally recognized physician-scientist who specializes in mycology and also conducts research on antibodies in relation to vaccine development. Dr Fries’ work spans a wide range of disciplines, but her research chiefly investigates the pathogenesis of chronic fungal infections and the development of monoclonal antibodies against multidrug-resistant bacteria.

Drs. Danny Bluestein, Judith Ann Crowell, and Lawrence Hurst Appointed SUNY Distinguished Professors

Congratulations to our new SUNY Distinguished Professor, Dr. Danny Bluestein, and new SUNY Distinguished Service Professors, Drs. Judith Ann Crowell and Lawrence Hurst!

Dr. Danny Bluestein's research interests include the elucidation of physical forces that regulate cellular function in flowing blood and the translation of this knowledge to numerical and experimental strategies aimed at optimizing the thromboresistance of mechanical circulatory support devices, multiscale modeling of thrombosis, and enhancing clinical diagnostics of cardiovascular diseases processes and progression for developing strategies to achieve better clinical outcomes of procedures and devices for patients who suffer from these diseases.

Judith Ann Crowell, MD, is a board-certified child and adolescent psychiatrist and professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health at the Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University.

Lawrence Colwyn Hurst, MD, is board-certified in orthopaedic surgery with more than 30 years of practice experience and additional qualifications in surgery of the hand. His dedication to his patients and to the field of hand surgery is evident through his long list of teaching and research credentials, as well as his exceptional quality of care.

Danny Bluestein Judith Ann Crowell Lawrence Hurst

Dr. Danny Bluestein
Department of Biomedical Engineering

Dr. Judith Ann Crowell
Department of Psychiatry

Dr. Lawrence Hurst
Departments of Orthopedics

Professor John Fleagle wins Charles Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award

John FleagleJohn Fleagle, PhD, Distinguished Professor of Anatomical Sciences at Stony Brook University’s Renaissance School of Medicine, has won the Charles Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award. Granted by the American Association of Biological Anthropology (AABA), the award will be presented at the association’s annual conference held April 19-22 in Nevada. Known as the AABA’s most prestigious honor, this yearly award recognizes a senior member of the association who has exhibited a lifetime of contributions and commitment to biological anthropology.

Professor Fleagle’s presence in the field of biological anthropology spans half a century. Much of his work has centered around investigating primate evolution, primate locomotion, and broad patterns of evolution and adaptation across many taxa. From Argentina to India, his fieldwork has taken him across the world. In Ethiopia, Professor Fleagle directed a groundbreaking study that uncovered fresh insights into the African origin of homo sapiens.

Professor Fleagle is a MacArthur Fellow, a Guggenheim Fellow, and a member of three graduate programs at Stony Brook University – the Doctoral Program in Ecology and Evolution, the Interdepartmental Doctoral Program in Anthropological Sciences, and the program in Anatomical Sciences.

Faculty Mentoring Workshops

January 19, 2023: Tools for clinical teaching – and – Resources for lab management

February 16, 2023: If I knew then what I know now

March 23, 2023: Promotion and tenure in the RSOM

April 20, 2023: Building your reputation as a basic or clinical scientist

May 11, 2023: Professionalism / How to report a problem

June 15, 2023: How to manage a team

July 20, 2023: Guidelines for social media & consulting

August 17, 2023: Mentoring / coaching / sponsoring

September 21, 2023: Entrepreneurship

October 19, 2023: Research IT resources

To more information, please contact Kimberly Malamutt.