Department of Surgery Annual Research Day

The Department of Surgery's Annual Research Day, established in 2010, is an opportunity for residents to present their surgical research. The focus of the program is moving the science of surgery forward. The Research Day program showcases ongoing and completed research projects by way of oral platform presentations, as well as a poster competition by our residents, medical students, and faculty.

Also included is a keynote speaker who discusses his or her own research. The program offers continuing medical education (CME) credit.

2023 Research Day
Surgical Research
May 31, 2023 - MART Auditorium

Opening Remarks and Welcome
Apostolos Tassiopoulos, MD, FACS
Professor and Chairman of Surgery

Keynote Speaker:
Jose Antonio Diaz, MD
Research Associate Professor of Surgery
Director, Div. of Surgical Research Section of Surgical Sciences, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN

The following resident presenters and their mentors were recognized with awards:

Niharika Singh, MD - "Improved post-operative outcomes with ERAS protocol in the pediatric ambulatory surgical population"
Helen Hsieh, MD - Faculty Mentor
Polikseni Eksarko, MD - Discussant

Samuel Greenberg, Medical Student - "Single-center versus multi-center surgeons' mitral valve repair - adjusted clinical outcomes"
Thomas Bilfinger, MD; Henry Tannous, MD; Annie Laurie Shroyer, PhD - Faculty Mentors
Aleksandra Krajewski, MD - Discussant

James Metkus, MD - "Preoperative vitamin D levels' effect on length of stay in postoperative thyroidectomy patients"
Lukas Czerwonka, MD - Faculty Mentor
Lucyna Price, MD - Discussant

Amir Teimouri-Dereshgi, MD - "The impact of weight reducing bariatric surgery on post-operative need for surgical valvular intervention in patients with pre-existing valvular heart disease"
Ankit Dhamija, MD - Faculty Mentor
Kinga Powers, MD - Discussant

Josue Gutierrez, MD - "Clinical outcomes of intravascular ultrasound-confirmed symptomatic transplant renal artery stenosis after endovascular treatment"
Angela Kokkosis, MD; Nicos Labropoulos, PhD - Faculty Mentors
Ankit Dhamija, MD - Discussant

Other Awards & Recognitions
Outstanding Faculty Teaching Scholar
Nicholas Ahn, MD

Outstanding Resident Teaching Scholar
Ross Weller, MD

Poster Competition
Gurtej Singh, Phd
Alexander Dagum, MD